Tom Mason & Chris Ulm talk Malibu Comics 1993 for the SciFi Channel.

I know others feel differently, but I think Facebook is a wonderful thing. I get to keep up with relatives and friends that are scattered around the world. I find that service alone is blessing enough, but it also allows me to find articles and other stuff tucked away in the corners of the internet that I might not find on my own.

Case in point, this amazing footage when someone from SciFi Channel (before they changed the spelling of their name) sent a camera crew to the Malibu Comics offices. I don’t remember how we made this happen. I also don’t know why they came or what show contained this footage. But enjoy it anyway.

If anyone can fill in the blanks about the origins of this piece of video journalism, please post them in the comments.

There are a couple of things to note. First everyone will notice that I am completely silent through the whole thing. Trust me, I had things to say, but apparently the producers didn’t believe it was interesting enough. Plus an extra humiliation … they misspell my name.

“TOM MASON IS GOD” came to us from a piece of fan-mail to Tom’s DINOSAURS FOR HIRE comic he created.

Plus, there is a lot of talk about Malibu’s acquisition of the license for STAR TREK: DEEP SPACE NINE.

Starring Chris Ulm and Tom Mason. Two better friends a guy couldn’t ask for. You gotta admit, Tom’s hair is epic!

Guest starring Albert Calleros, Tim Edred, Anne Chien Watkins, and Stacy Herring Saez

Thanks to Bruce McCorkindale for posting this on Facebook … so that I could re-post it here.

That’s my version of the story. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

-Dave

 

2 Comments

Filed under Behind the Scenes, Fanatical History

2 responses to “Tom Mason & Chris Ulm talk Malibu Comics 1993 for the SciFi Channel.

  1. Whatever happened to those guys?

  2. Tom Mason

    I don’t even remember doing this. I do remember the hair. I still have the “Tom Mason is GOD” note somewhere in my files. Also, it’s now my back tattoo…

Leave a comment