DR. FATE is the 2nd String (third round) winner


We’re close to the end of the month, so it is time to turn our attention to the not-nearly-equitable and only vaguely fair contest I’m calling the 2nd String Character Hall of Fame. I take the nominations that I get in the various comments section or sent to me via e-mail, especially on the page set aside for the contest. Then I take the names, write the names on little slips of paper and throw them into an old bright orange Tampa Bay Buccaneers stocking cap.


I select five slips of paper and then I create a voting box that sits in the sidebar, so fanatic readers can vote for their favorites. For the last month or so, readers have been voting on this THIRD ROUND of nominees and this time we had a record number of votes and a landslide win.











In case you don’t want to bother checking the contest page (just above that beautiful George Pérez art at the top of the page) here is the character description of this month’s winner.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Dr. Fate isn’t really a character … or he’s been seven or more different characters in the DC Universe … depending on how you look at it. The character name dates back to More Fun Comics #55 (May 1940). Fate is a magical character whose origins and power were tied to a mystical being called Nabu. Fate was part of the original Justice Society of America, but the character was repeated reworked after Crisis on Infinite Earths, with many different people wearing Fate’s helmet. The current Dr. Fate is Kent V. Nelson, the grandnephew of the original.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

In the coming days, I’m going to be putting together the voting box for the Fourth Round of this august contest. Get your nominations in as soon as you can. I wonder where I put  my orange Bucs’ cap?

Winner of the Third Round: DOCTOR FATE

Winner of the First Round: ZATANNA

Winner of the Second Round: SPEEDBALL

— Dave Olbrich (DWO) Fri. Feb. 27, 2009



Filed under 2nd String Characters

5 responses to “DR. FATE is the 2nd String (third round) winner

  1. BAH!! Blue Devil rules!!!!

    Nick Fury’s Flying Car
    Amazing Spider-Kid
    Jon Sable’s Wig
    Flat-Man from GLA
    Bob Agent of Hydra
    Warlock (from New Mutants)

  2. yeah i totally voted for Stingray.

    nominations for fourth round:
    Peter Porker, Spider-Ham
    War Machine

  3. Paul O'Connor


  4. Tom Mason

    I think the creator makes a big difference, too. Speedball isn’t the same without Ditko, for example. I specifically voted for ol’ Doc Fate based solely on First Issue Special #9 and that great Walter Simonson artwork.

  5. Mike

    Just passing by. Btw, your website have great content!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s