Robotech, Grendel featured in this week’s FANATIC Quiz Question

The other day in my fourth installment of my Secret Origins of Malibu Comics series, I posted a cover of Jonny Quest published by Comico in 1986. This is the second time that I’ve let me fanatic dedication to this great animated show of my youth hang out in random ways. There is also a Jonny Quest illustration hiding in a post about comic creator jack-of-all-trades Jeff Parker.

Posting that Dave Stevens cover got me to thinking more about Comico. So I’ve decided to make it the subject of this weeks quiz question.

 

FANATIC QUIZ QUESTION OF THE WEEK 

A few weeks ago we played this game with First Comics, now it is time to turn our attention to Comico. Look at the five covers below and then put them in the chronological order in which they were published. And just to make it easier, each one of them was published in a different year.

Elementals #1  •  Grendel #1  •  Maze Agency #1

Night and the Enemy GN  •  Robotech: The Macross Saga #2

elementals01grendel01

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mazeagency01nightandtheenemy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

robotech02

BONUS QUESTION: What is the interesting trivia relationship between Robotech: The Macross Saga #2 and issue #1 of the series?

 

marchblogmonth

Diversions of the Groovy Kind by Groovy Agent (Lloyd Smith)

When I first came across this hard working blog, I was blown away by the effort and depth of information as well as the vast number of covers and interior art pages from comics of the past that are featured here. Because Lloyd insists on using a pseudonym, I actually mis-identified him as his friend and frequent collaborator Jon Gilbert when I did my original post. Now that Lloyd stands exposed as the genius behind this terrific blog, I want to give him a huge Fanatic pat on the back for his contribution to nostalgic comic content on the internet. Good job Mr. Smith.

diversions-header

Just looking at the blog today, on his home page he has a long and exhaustive examination of Marvel’s Skull the Slayer title, Marvel’s licensed-from-TV Man from Atlantis book, a pile of great splash pages from 1980’s titles, PLOP, and the magazine that dared to compete with Warren’s black-and-white horror magazines called Web of Horror.

Groovy Agent is even planning a new blog that will focus on the comics of the 1980’s which he plans to call “Blinded Me With Comics.” Since naming it Blog of the Week, I’ve found myself web-cruising by this blog on a regular basis. It is has a well-worn bookmark on my browser and I expect Lloyd Smith’s 1980’s blog will get the same kind of well-deserved traffic from me.

As Blog of the Month for March, Diversions of the Groovy Kind will now be considered with other monthly winners for the Fanatic Blog of the Year.

          – Dave Olbrich (DWO) Thur. Mar. 5, 2009

4 Comments

Filed under Blog of the Week, Product Plugs, Quiz Questions

4 responses to “Robotech, Grendel featured in this week’s FANATIC Quiz Question

  1. Dave Olbrich

    Well deserved true believer. Keep up the good work!

  2. I love old Groove’s blog, but I still don’t believe he’s going to be able to post comics from that era for long without getting hassled by DC and Marvel’s lawyers. I’m rooting for him, and it would be great if they would simply recognize that it’s a tribute to their magazines that people want to read them 30+ years later.

  3. This is my first time visiting this site. I can see why it’s so popular! I’d like to add you to my blogroll at the Defenders Fansite!

Leave a Reply

