Comic Book Time Capsule: January 1989

***** Apparently my abilities as a Jedi-blog-master are lacking. Due to the heavy use of graphics and the erratic use of text, this particular Fanatic post is going to look wildly different from one computer to the next. Sorry. I promise to do better next time. – DWO *****

funnybookfanaticlogoCovers from comics released by publishers other than Marvel and DC from twenty (20) years ago today. What were you doing twenty years ago, other than buying and reading these fine examples of funny book fanaticism.

In no particular order, all were released in January 1989. (if my research hasn’t failed me again) And don’t forget to click the VOTE FOR ME button right there —–>

For those that showed up today for more of the Origins of Malibu Comics, let me extend my apologies. Writing the next installment has become more difficult and more research intensive than I anticipated. Yeah, I know I was there, but give me a break … 1987 was 22 years ago.

Marder beans on a Sienkiewicz cover

Marder beans on a Sienkiewicz cover

I've always loved this Tales from the Heart cover

I've always loved this Tales from the Heart cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Astro Boy marked for death?

Astro Boy marked for death?

 

Chaykin adult title BLACK KISS from Vortex

Chaykin adult title BLACK KISS from Vortex

 

 

 

 

Last of the Viking Heroes #7 from Genesis West

Last of the Viking Heroes #7 from Genesis West

 

 

 

 

 

Quality's SCAVENGERS #12

Quality's SCAVENGERS #12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dark Horse does Robots with MECHA #6

Dark Horse does Robots with MECHA #6

 

Apple Comics goes for vampire fans

Apple Comics goes for vampire fans

 

 

1988 was going to be Continuity's year!

Check it out: 1988 was going to be Continuity's year!

 

How many copies did this one sell ???

How many copies did this one sell ???

 

Don Lomax's VIETNAM JOURNAL #8 from Apple

Don Lomax's VIETNAM JOURNAL #8 from Apple

 

I'd almost forgotten STREET HEROES and I published it

I'd almost forgotten STREET HEROES and I published it

 

First Comics DREADSTAR #40

First Comics DREADSTAR #40

 

Kitchen Sink'

Kitchen Sink's reprint of THE SPIRT, issue #51

 

Slave Labor's true Native American tale

Slave Labor's true Native American tale

 

Black-and-white magazine reprints of hot babes in peril

Black-and-white magazine reprints of hot babes in peril: Cover by Jim Balent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let the discussion begin!

Do you remember these titles? Did you buy them? Did you hate them?

If you bought them when you were 16, you’re 36 now.

Seems to me that there is a lot of diversity here, for good or ill. Of these 16 comics, only FOUR of them were color comics.

Sound off fanatics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And before I forget, let me thank the guys at MyComicShop.com, without whom this particular post would not have been possible.

– Dave Olbrich (DWO) Wed. Jan. 28, 2009

5 Comments

Filed under Fanatical History

5 responses to “Comic Book Time Capsule: January 1989

  1. Tom Mason

    Hey – here’s your Malibu trivia of the day: The Street Heroes cover that you almost don’t remember was colored by Mr. Bruce Timm.

  2. The only book I got off the shelf of those was Black Kiss. I was a “Marvel” slave that year and I don’t recall Pantechnicon (sp) had much of the others. Do you remember that store off T.O. Blvd.? This was before they moved down the block and the owner burned down his store.

  3. Anthony F

    Interesting post – I was too young to purchase these titles off the stands, but I recognize some from the back issue bins. A few years back I was trying to complete my Jim Balent collection and ‘Victims’ was hard to come by. And Tom – thanks for the trivia

  4. Dave Olbrich

    Tom —

    I wonder … if you mentioned to Jeff Vaughn over at the Overstreet Price Guide that Street Heroes 2005 #1 was colored by Bruce Timm … would the back issue price go up. I mean, after all, why should we keep important information like that from dedicated collectors?

    Mark –

    I remember Joe and Myron from Pantechnicon quite vividly. I was running into Joe at Moorpark High School on a regular basis until about 2004. I haven’t seen Myron in a lot of years. I used to live just down the street and would put Maggie in an over-the-shoulder baby-carrier and walk down to Pantechnicon to buy comics (this would have been during my illustrious Dominos Pizza career).

    And that arson charge was dismissed, right?

  5. Hmm, It’s possible the charges were dismissed, I haven’t heard beyond the original story. I haven’t seen Myron in years. Last time I saw him, he had a store in Agoura Hills but it was all Movie stuff. I remember Ray from the store who, I seem to recall, worked for Malibu is some capacity. He was trying to jump-start a screenwriting career back then.

Leave a Reply

